2018 Atlanta Schedule Recap

0
284
Picture taken by usatoday.com

The 2018 MLS regular season schedule was released January 4, 2018 at around 2 PM Eastern Time.

The Five Stripes in Atlanta open up the 2018 campaign on the road as the visit Western Conference opponents Houston Dynamo on March 3, 2018. The Dynamo produced an exciting run in the MLS Cup playoffs until eventually falling to the Seattle Sounders in the Conference Finals of the 2017 MLS Cup playoffs.

Georgia will finally have soccer again in Mercedes Benz as Atlanta host Eastern Conference foes D.C. United on March 11. The Five Stripes will attempt to take the D.C. monkey off their back as the expansion club was unable to grab any points against the Washington club.

Atlanta United captivated not only the hearts of sports fans in the state of Georgia, but fans across the country. As a result of the expansion club’s all-around success, the Five Stripes are broadcasted nationally in 16 different matches. Fox Sports South will broadcast the remaining matches for local viewers.

National TV List

Univision: March 3 @ Houston, July 21 vs D.C. United, October 6 vs New England

Unimas: September 15 @ Colorado

ESPN: March 11 vs D.C. United, April 7 vs LA FC, June 30 vs Orlando City, August 4 vs Toronto FC, August 24 @ Orlando City, September 30 @ New York Red Bulls

FS1: April 15 vs NYC FC, May 13 @ Orlando City, May 20 vs New York Red Bulls, September 2 @ D.C. United

Fox: June 24 vs Portland, July 15 vs Seattle

Although United will not be forced to play so many matches in such a short span as they were last year, the 2018 season provides its own challenges. The toughest stretch for the Five Stripes comes in June when Atlanta will face off against three playoff teams consecutively. Two of these matches being on the road. United will travel to face NYC FC June 9, immediately visit Columbus June 13, and then return home to play Darlington Nagbe’s former club in the Portland Timbers June 24.

Across the spectrum Atlanta United raised the bar for Major League Soccer in its inaugural campaign by quality play on the field along with shattering attendance records for regular season and playoff matches.

The Five Stripes will look to continue to impress soccer fans across the continent in the 2018 campaign as the club’s schedule seem to provide less challenges than previously which could help produce a longer playoff run than the 2017 season.

Full Schedule
Saturday, March 3, 3:30 p.m. at Houston Dynamo
Sunday, March 11, 3 p.m. vs. D.C. United
Saturday, March 17, 7:30 p.m. vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Sunday, April 1, 2 p.m. at Minnesota United
Saturday, April 7, 5 p.m. vs. LAFC
Sunday, April 15, 6 p.m. vs. New York City FC
Saturday, April 21, 10:30 p.m. at LA Galaxy
Saturday, April 28, 1 p.m. vs. Montreal Impact
Saturday, May 5, 6 p.m. at Chicago Fire
Wednesday, May 9, 7:30 p.m. vs. Sporting Kansas City
Sunday, May 13, 6 p.m. at Orlando City SC
Sunday, May 20, 7 p.m. vs. New York Red Bulls
Wednesday, May 30, 7:30 p.m. at New England Revolution
Saturday, June 2, 7 p.m. vs. Philadelphia Union
Saturday, June 9, 12:30 p.m. at New York City FC
Wednesday, June 13, 7:30 p.m. at Columbus Crew SC
Sunday, June 24, 4:30 p.m. vs. Portland Timbers
Saturday, June 30, 7 p.m. vs. Orlando City SC
Wednesday, July 4, 8 p.m. at FC Dallas
Saturday, July 7, TBD, at Philadelphia Union
Sunday, July 15, 2 p.m. vs. Seattle Sounders FC
Saturday, July 21, 3:30 p.m. vs. D.C United
Saturday, July 28, 7:30 p.m. at Montreal Impact
Saturday, Aug. 4, 4 p.m. vs. Toronto FC
Sunday, Aug. 19, 4 p.m. vs. Columbus Crew SC
Friday, Aug. 24, 8 p.m., ESPN: at Orlando City SC
Sunday, Sept. 2, 5:30 p.m. at D.C. United
Saturday, Sept. 15, 3:30 p.m. at Colorado Rapids
Wednesday, Sept. 19, 10:30 p.m. at San Jose Earthquakes
Saturday, Sept. 22, 7 p.m. vs. Real Salt Lake
Sunday, Sept. 30, 1 p.m. at New York Red Bulls
Saturday, Oct. 6, 3:30 p.m. vs. New England Revolution
Saturday, Oct. 21, TBD, vs. Chicago Fire
Sunday, Oct. 28, 4:30 p.m. at Toronto FC